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Issue Date: 
 
March 6, 2015 
 
Effective Date: 
 
June 1, 2014 
 
Background: 
 
The California Department of Social Services (CDSS) instructed to move all child-only Safety Net 
cases and cases in which all adults are excluded due to the adults’ status as a drug felon or fleeing 
felon into two new aid codes (K1 and 3F) which are state funded. 
 
Moving these cases out of the federally funded TANF program and into a new solely state funded aid 
code allows these cases to be excluded from California’s work participation rate (WPR) calculation, 
thus increasing California’s chances of meeting federal WPR requirements.   
 
Refer to CalWORKs Program Memo 13-12 for additional information. 
 
Policy: 
 
The following policy changes are effective retroactively to June 2014. 
 
Exempt from Child Support: 
 
Due to federal regulations CalWORKs K1 and 3F cases are exempt from Child Support requirements 
unless the family voluntarily requests Child Support services from a Local Child Support Agency 
(LCSA). 
 
No Mandatory Referrals: 
 
Referrals of K1 and 3F cases to the LCSA are no longer required.  These cases also are not required 
to assign support rights or cooperate with Child Support requirements as a condition of eligibility for 
CalWORKs.  Child Support sanctions and penalties will not be applied to K1 and 3F cases and must 
be removed. 
 
Existing Child Support Passed Through: 
 
K1 and 3F cases that already have an open Child Support case with the LCSA may continue Child 
Support enforcement and collections if the family voluntarily wishes to maintain an open Child 
Support case; however, any support collected on behalf of the aided children must be passed through 
to the family directly and not be retained by the State or County to reimburse CalWORKs aid paid. 
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Reporting Rules: 
 
CalWORKs Assistance Units (AU) are required to report the Child Support payments they receive in 
accordance with their CalWORKs and CalFresh income reporting rules.  CalFresh Semi-Annual 
Reporting (SAR) households are required to report Child Support received on their SAR 7 report, and 
CalWORKs Annual Reporting/Child-Only (AR/CO) AUs are required to report Child Support received 
at application and during the annual redetermination.  In addition, all AUs are required to report 
receipt of direct Child Support income any time the family’s total monthly income exceeds the Income 
Reporting Threshold (IRT) if the AU also has earned income. 
 
Child Support Disregard: 
 
Once the Child Support is determined to be reasonably anticipated and countable, disregard the first 
$50 of the Child Support income and count the remaining Child Support as unearned income against 
the AU’s grant for the upcoming payment period according to AR/CO rules.  If an AU receives more 
than one Child Support payment in the same month, the $50 disregard is applied only once per 
month regardless of the number of payments received, unless the first payment is less than $50, in 
which case an amount up to a total of $50 for the month is disregarded. 
 
Procedure: 
 
Time-On-Aid (TOA) and Arrearages: 
 
Under the new policy, since Child Support collected is no longer used to reimburse aid paid to the 
family, TOA months will no longer be “unticked” unless arrearages are collected and retained by the 
County that are used to reimburse full months of aid paid to that AU. 
 
Child Support Sanctions and Penalties: 
 
Remove all Child Support related sanctions and penalties for these cases retroactively, effective back 
to June 1, 2014.  Because these cases are child-only cases, lifting the sanction for refusal to assign 
support rights will not increase the grant for the adult’s portion. 
 
Underpayments and Overpayments: 
 
For cases in which a 25 percent Child Support penalty was applied for failure to cooperate with Child 
Support requirements, remove the penalty effective June 1, 2014.  All underpayments issued as a 
result of removing the sanction or penalty must be used to offset existing overpayments in 
accordance with CPG 44-350.K.  Adequate and timely notice must be provided.  Any remaining 
underpayment following the offset must be given to the family. 
 
 
 
 
 

http://hhsa-pg.sdcounty.ca.gov/CalWORKS/44-350/Underpayments/K_Underpayment.htm
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Other Aid Codes: 
 
If a case transitions back into a non-K1/3F aid code, the prior sanction or penalty will not be re-
applied, but Child Support assignment agreements and cooperation requirements must re-initiated.  If 
the individual refuses to cooperate or assign his/her support rights without good cause when the case 
is transitioning into the non-K1/3F aid code, a new sanction or penalty will be initiated at that time. 
 
The adult will be added back into the AU effective the first of the month in which the case transitions 
back into the non-K1/3F aid code, providing the adult has not reached his/her 48-month time limit and 
is otherwise eligible. 
 
Benefits of Child Support Collection: 
 
Workers are strongly encouraged to have a discussion with each applicant (or recipient who does not 
have a current open Child Support case) to highlight the advantages of opening a Child Support case 
and the benefits of Child Support collection.  For example, explain that receipt of direct Child Support 
will mean the family will receive and be able to keep more income. 
 
Assisting Clients: 
 
Provide assistance to clients seeking Title IV-D (Child Support) services through the LCSA such as: 
 
• Telling the client where they need to go to apply for services 
• Helping the family to fill out the necessary forms 
• Making appointments 
• Answering any questions they may have 
 
Automation Impact: 
 
CalWIN changes to reflect these new regulations are work in progress and scheduled to be updated 
in the near future. 
 
Management Report: 
 
A Management Report will be provided in the near future to staff listing all the K1 and 3F cases 
possessing either a Child Support sanction or Child Support penalty for removal. 
 
Client Correspondence: 
 
The Notice and Agreement for Child, Spousal and Medical Support and the Child Support 
Questionnaire are no longer required and should not be used for applicants whose cases will be 
immediately placed into one of these aid codes unless required by the Medi-Cal program.  If at any 
time the case transfers into another aid code that is not K1/3F, the parent/caretaker relative would at 
that time be required to complete and sign the two forms. 
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CW 2215 - New Rules in California Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Kids (CalWORKs) 
for Safety Net and Certain Child-Only Cases: 
 
The CW 2215 notice must be used to notify recipients in aid codes K1 and 3F about the changes in 
Child Support rules and when to report income changes.  It can be mailed to AUs as they are moved 
into the K1/3F aid codes. 
 
Until translations are available, recipients who have elected to receive materials in languages other 
than English should be sent the English version of the form or notice along with the GEN 1365-Notice 
of Language Services. 
 
Forms and Document Capture: 
 
Workers are not to complete and/or Document Capture the Child Support Referral forms for K1 and 
3F aid code cases.  Workers are complete and Document Capture the Child Support Referral forms if 
the case moves to another aid code that is not K1 or 3F. 
 
Impacts: 
 
None 
 
Quality Control (QC): 
 
QC will cite the appropriate error when regulations are not applied or are applied incorrectly. 
 
References: 
 
ACL 13-70 
ACL 14-78 
MPP 82-500 
 
Sunset Date: 
 
This policy will be reviewed for continuance by March 31, 2016. 
 
Approval for Release: 

 
 
Rick Wanne, Director 
Eligibility Operations 

http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/lettersnotices/EntRes/getinfo/acl/2013/13-70.pdf
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/lettersnotices/EntRes/getinfo/acl/2014/14-78.pdf
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/ord/entres/getinfo/pdf/22EAS.pdf#page=9
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